Magazine Spread Indesign Project

Process: Because of the size of this project, we did some of the busy work, like writing the article and finding images, earlier in the semester. Overall I wanted to keep things simple, like I wanted my color scheme to fit my images, like the yellow of the buildings and the blue of the sky and the suits in my images, while adding purple as a pop of color. I tried to align both images of the BYU-I campus on the opposite sides of the pages for repetition in the corners. For placing the text, I chose to break up the 5 paragraphs between the two pages rather than have one spill over onto the second page. I added the ribbons in the corners to promote the flow of reading from left to right, top to bottom.

Draft Critique: For my draft critique I reached out to Sister Foulk for her advice on what I could improve. She suggested I change the body copy, remove hyphens from the paragraphs, change the purple pastel color to a stronger one and that I remove the outline from the bottom blue half of the page. I went through and did every one of her suggestions, and felt they incredibly improved the whole spread. I especially was appreciative of the suggestion to remove hyphens, since that never occurred to me but made the text look incredibly better!

Fonts: Title – Heaven Matters – Script, Body Copy – Microsoft Tai Le – Sans-Serif

Image Links:
https://www.121captions.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/communication-service-for-the-deaf.jpeg
http://www.byui.edu/Images/PRPhotos/fall2014.jpg
http://www.byui.edu/Images/university-communications/graduation/Campus.gif

Leave a Reply

